Analytics has about 100 distinct measures to help better understand your business. Each of the measures used in Analytics is listed below in alphabetical order. You will see the formula used for the measure; the definition of the measure and each dashboard that the measure is located in.
Lime Light Analytics is designed to support the need to gain critical business insights without exporting data and manipulating it. Quickly answer macro and micro questions such as:
- Is a specific source of traffic bringing higher quality customers to the business than others?
- How much money am I making by subscription cycle over time?
- How does the Customer Lifetime Value (CLTV) of one traffic source compare to another?
- Has Churn Rate from Initial to Recurring billing increased or decreased over time?
Through topic-centric dashboards and advanced filtering, Lime Light Analytics is designed for presenting advanced Business Intelligence. Analytics will not leave questions about key measures unanswered. Address questions in one place with Lime Light Analytics.
If you are interested in understanding more about industry terms, refer to the Glossary of Terms.
|Active Subscriptions||Sum (Active Subscriptions)||Approved and the recurring flag is set to true.|
Organizing data by "Acquisition Date" allows the platform to associate Re-bill and Recurring transactions to the Initial transaction that initiated the order.
Also see Transaction Date.
|AOV||Gross Revenue ÷ Gross Orders||Average Order Value (AOV) tracks the average amount spent each time a customer places an order. AOV is a key measure that marketers measure to understand their customers’ purchasing habits.|
|Approved||Sum (Approved Transactions)||Credit card purchase for which the merchant has received approval from the bank that issued the customer's credit card.|
|Attempts||Sum (Transaction Attempts)||Trying to charge a credit card.|
|Avg Days to Chargeback||Average (Order Date - Chargeback Date)||The average number of days for an order to chargeback.|
|Avg Days to Chargeback (Initial)||Average (Order Date - Chargeback Date)||The average number of days for an Initial Order to chargeback.|
|Avg Days to Chargeback (Rebill)||Average (Order Date - Chargeback Date)||The average number of days for a Rebill Order to chargeback.|
|Avg Days to Chargeback (Recurring)||Average (Order Date - Chargeback Date)||The average number of days for a Recurring Order to chargeback.|
|Avg Chargeback per Day||Chargebacks ÷ Days in Month||The average number of chargebacks received per day.|
|Billing Rate||Orders ÷ Attempts||Percentage of approved transactions by billing cycle on the respective Gateway/BIN. The approval rate can be used to analyze and compare to other Gateway/BIN approval rates.|
|Cancellations||Sum (Cancellations)||An order that was canceled by a human. An order that is canceled through a system process is called a "hold" (e.g., through decline salvage).|
|Card on File||n/a||
An API method that creates a new order utilizing an existing credit card record. This is most often used to place a 2nd step/cross sell/up-sell order.
An order created with this method can and should be created as an Initial order from rebill depth 0 by including the parameter “initializeNewSubscription” in the API call. Without this parameter, the new order will be created with rebill depth 1 and that will inflate the rebill rate formula.
|Chargeback #||Count (Chargebacks)||The total number of Chargebacks within the date range. This is based on Chargeback date, not the date of the date of the transaction.|
|Chargeback # (from Salvaged)||Count (Chargebacks that were saved through salvaged)||The number of orders saved through salvage that resulted in a Chargeback.|
|Chargeback %||Chargebacks ÷ Orders||The percentage of merchant chargebacks.|
|Chargeback Lost Rev||Sum (Gross Revenue of Transactions Charged back)||Chargeback Lost Revenue is Gross Revenue lost within the designated time period as a result of chargebacks only. Note: The benefits of representment is not reflected in the Chargeback Lost Revenue calculation.|
|Chargeback Rev %||Chargeback Lost Rev ÷ Gross Revenue||The amount of revenue lost due to chargebacks divided by the Gross Revenue made in the period of time.|
|Churn MRR||Sum (Lost MRR)||MRR that was contributed by an account LAST month when the account had now contributed $0 this month. This reflects the amount of MRR that was lost. Because we will not know whether an account will contribute MRR or not until the END OF THE MONTH. Churned MRR might get updated for the current month with subscriptions getting reactivated and the corresponding changes will be visible in the Expansion/Contraction MRR numbers for the current month.|
|Churn Rate||Lost Unique Customers ÷ Starting Unique Customers||The higher the churn, the more customers lost.|
|CLTV||CLTV = Gross Profit ÷ Unique Initial Customers
Gross Profit = Gross Revenue - COGS
|The profit a business makes from any given customer (often referred to as LTV or CLV). The purpose of the CLTV measure is to assess the financial value of each customer.|
|COGS||Sum (COGS Expense)||The total cost of producing a product up to the point of sale. This would include costs such as manufacturing, packaging, pre-sale shipping or import duties, etc.|
|Compared to Average Chargeback %||Chargeback of the bank ÷ Avg Chargebacks of the population||The chargeback rate compared to the overall chargeback rate.|
|CPA Expenses||Sum (CPA Expense)||Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) is an online advertising pricing model where the advertiser pays for each specified acquisition.|
|Customer Service Expenses||Sum (Customer Service Expense)||Expenses associated with handling inbound customer service inquiries. Note: To modify this data element, refer to the Overview of Expenses page.|
|Cycle 2 Approval %||Approved transactions by Cycle||Approved transactions by billing cycle.|
|Cycle 2 Rate||(Cycle 2 Orders - Voids) ÷ (Rebill Orders - Voids)||Cycle 2 Rate is the retention rate of subscriptions from Rebill to Cycle 2 (billing depth 2).|
|Cycle 3+ Approval %||Cycle 3+ Total Orders ÷ Cycle 3+ Total Transactions||All cycle 3+ orders / all cycle 3+ transactions|
|Cycle 3+ Rate||Cycle 3+ Total Orders ÷ Cycle 3+ Total Transactions||Cycle 3+ Rate is the retention rate of subscriptions from Cycle 2 to Cycle 3+ (billing depth 3+).|
|Days to Chargeback Reset||Number of Days of the Month - Current Day of the Month||The number of days left until the month ends and the chargeback count threshold resets.|
|Decline Salvage Success Rate||Successful Salvage ÷ Original Declined Orders||Success rate of decline salvage from the unique declined order.|
|Declined||Sum (Declined Transactions)||Total declined transactions.|
|Declined %||Decline Transactions ÷ Gross Transactions||Percentage of declined orders out of the total unique attempted.|
|Declined Transactions (Salvaged)||Total Salvage attempts||The Total number of attempts through Decline Manager.|
|eCPA||Total CPA Expense ÷ Total Initial Orders||Use the eCPA measure to understand if the CPA (Cost per Acquisition) in a particular channel can be increased. For example, if the current eCPA is $35.70 and the current CPA in the affiliate marketing channel is $41, the decision may be made to increase the CPA to $44. That's if the following exists: (a) existing profit margin is sufficient, (b) increased orders will result and, (c) orders through the lower CPA channels will not be negatively impacted.|
|Ending Unique Customers||Starting Unique Customers + Gained Unique Customers - Lost Unique Customers||Ending Unique Customers, is the number of customers at the end of a month.|
|ePR||Processing Expense Total ÷ Orders||ePR is an acronym for "Effective Processing Rate." The average cost of processing orders. For example, if the total cost of processing 100 orders is $10, the ePR is $0.10. The ePR is a good measure to compare the cost of one gateway/merchant account to another.|
|Expansion MRR||Sum (expansion MRR)||A positive change in an account's contribution to MRR when compared to the previous month. Common reasons for Expansion MRR include subscription upgrade, a coupon or credit being exhausted and causing the total subscription amount being paid to increase or an account adding a second subscription.|
|Fraud %||Transactions marked as Fraudulent ÷ Orders||The percentage of orders marked as fraud. This includes orders that have manually been marked as fraud and orders caught by risk mitigation providers such as Kount.|
|Fulfillment Expenses||Sum (Cycle Fulfillment Expense)||Expenses associated with pick and pack activities. It's best practice to separate packaging, postage, and fulfillment so each expense is isolated and can be trended over time to determine if one of these three expenses is out of line. Note: To modify this data element, refer to the Overview of Expenses page.|
|Gained Unique Customers||SUM (Gained Unique Customers)||Gained Unique Customers, is the number of newly acquired customers during the month.|
|Gross Profit||Gross Revenue - COGS||Gross Profit is the revenue generated minus the cost of the product sold before the deduction of any other expense assumptions. It is important to note that Gross Profit is derived from Gross Revenue so it does not deduct Refunds from the starting revenue point.|
|Gross Revenue||Sum (Order Total Revenue)||The total revenue generated by sales. Refunds, discounts, and expenses are not deducted from Gross revenue.|
|Holds||Sum (Holds)||An order that is canceled through a system process is called a "hold" (e.g., through decline salvage).|
|In-Trial Cancel %||In-trial Cancels ÷ Initial Orders||Orders that cancel within the trial period. The In-trial Cancel Rate is a great early indicator of traffic source quality. The higher the percentage of In-trial cancels, the lower the quality of traffic the source is driving. This is not always the sole and definitive indicator of quality but again, it's a great early indicator.|
|In-Trial Cancellations||Sum (In-Trial Cancellations)||In-trial Cancellations are cancellations that happen during the trial period.|
|Inactive Subscriptions||SUM (Inactive Subscriptions)||The subscription was previously active and is now on hold. The subscriptions will not bill again until the subscription is manually reactivated.|
|Initial Approval %||Initial Approvals ÷ Initial Gross Transactions||The approval rate on Initial Orders. This is a measure that is helpful to judge the success of actually billing the Initial attempts.|
|Initial Orders||Sum (Initial Orders)||The cycle 0 orders. Cycle 0 = Initial Orders. Cycle 1 = Rebill Orders.|
|Lost Unique Customers||Starting Unique Customers - Ending Unique Customers + Gained Unique Customers||Lost Unique Customers are customers that no longer have an ongoing relationship - they would no longer have a future Rebill or Recurring transaction either because they have canceled the relationship or because their prior transaction was declined.|
|MER||Gross Revenue ÷ CPA||Media Efficiency Ratio (MER), is calculated by taking gross revenue and dividing it by total media spend. The more revenue a campaign generates against the media spend, the higher the MER. The higher the MER, the better gross return on the media spent. Note: Currently, Lime Light Analytics leverages the Cost per Acquisition (CPA) data point entered into the platform and attributed to campaigns. If additional media spend types such as CPC, CPM, etc, are leveraged and there is a need to incorporate them into the MER calculation, include these added costs into the CPA expense assumption input into the Expense Profile for the respective campaigns.|
|Merchant Processing Total|
|MID Processing Fee||Gateway Processing Fee × Salvage Attempts||The total processing fee charged by the gateway for all salvage attempts. This number comes from the expense assumptions set up in the respective gateway.|
|MRR||Stands for Monthly Recurring Revenue. It is the amount of current (as of yesterday at midnight) scheduled recurring revenue.|
|MRR per Customer||Gross Subscription Revenue ÷ Gross Subscription Orders||The average Monthly Recurring Revenue per customer.|
|Net Benefit||Salvaged Revenue - MID Processing Fee||The total Net revenue gained from orders saved through salvage.|
|Net Change||Ending Unique Customers - Starting Unique Customers||The difference between Starting Unique Customers and Ending Unique Customers.|
|Net Churn Rate||Net Change ÷ Starting Unique Customers||The difference between the Starting Unique Customers and Ending Unique Customers divided by the Starting Unique Customers.|
Gross Revenue - (Total Expenses + Taxes + Refunds + COGS)
|Net Profit is the Net Revenue (Gross Revenue minus Refunds and Chargebacks) minus all expense items including Taxes. This is the bottom line amount of money made.|
|Net Revenue||Gross Revenue - Refunds - Chargebacks||Net Revenue takes into consideration simple deductions to Gross Revenue - specifically, any refunds or Chargebacks. Note: Net Revenue does not deduct any other Expenses Types (e.g. Affiliate Costs, Operating costs, etc.) or Taxes.|
|New MRR||n/a||MRR (Monthly Recurring Revenue) contributed to an account in this month when the account contributed $0 last month AND has never contributed MRR in the past.|
|Non Subscribers||n/a||Straight Sale Orders|
|Operating Expenses||Sum (Operating Expense)||General business expenses. Put all of the expenses here that need to be accounted for in any P&L such as rent, utilities, salaries, etc. Using the Operating expense assumption helps to get the P&L closer to reality. Note: To modify this data element, refer to the Overview of Expenses page.|
|Orders||Sum (Approved Transactions)||The total number of approved transactions.|
|Orders Approved||Count (Orders)||See "Orders."|
|Orders Attempted||Count (Unique Orders Attempted to Salvage)||Unique Orders that attempted to salvage.|
|Original Declined Orders||Count (Unique Orders Attempted to Salvage)||Unique Orders that attempted to salvage.|
|Packaging Expenses||Sum (Packaging Expense)||Expenses associated with the packaging material (boxes, bubble wrap, tape, etc) used to ship orders to customers. Note: To modify this data element, refer to the Overview of Expenses page.|
|Pending||SUM (Pending Orders)||An incomplete order that is in a state where funds have not yet transferred. Pending orders are not sent to fulfillment.|
|Postage Expenses||Sum (Postage Expense)||Expenses associated with postage fee for shipping orders to customers. Note: To modify this data element, refer to the Overview of Expenses page.|
|Profit per Customer||Net Profit ÷ Unique Initial Customers||The average amount of profit generated from an individual customer.|
|Prospects||Sum (Prospects)||A potential customer that has some amount of customer information in a record within the database that has shown a level of interest in a campaign but has not placed an order.|
|Rebill Approval %||Rebill Approvals ÷ Rebill Gross Transactions||The approval rate on Rebill Orders. This is a measure that is helpful to judge the success of actually billing the Rebill attempts.|
|Rebill Orders||Sum (Rebills)||The orders immediately after the Initial Order. Cycle 0 = Initial Orders. Cycle 1 = Rebill Orders.|
|Rebill Rate||(Rebill Orders - Card on File Rebills) ÷ Initial Orders||
One of the most important measures to monitor, the Rebill Rate is the percentage of Initial Orders that convert to a Rebill (Cycle 1) order.
Note: See "Card on File" definition in this glossary if you do now understand what it is.
|Refund #||Count (Refunds)||Refund count.|
|Refunded||Sum (Refunds)||Total amount refunded.|
|Refund %||Refunds ÷ Orders||The percentage of refunded orders.|
|Refunded Rev %||Amount Refunded ÷ Total Revenue||Percentage of Gross Revenue lost due to refunds.|
|Refunded w/o Chargeback||Sum (Refunds + Refunds from Chargebacks)||Amount of refunds that are not related to chargebacks.|
|Reserves||Approved Revenue × Reserve %||Gateway estimated reserves based on the value set in the Lime Light platform configuration. Reserves is a set amount of the Advertiser’s money that is put aside by the acquiring bank as a security deposit. This safeguards the financial institution from unplanned liability. Note: Refer to Edit Gateway in the Configuration section to determine how you set the Reserve percentage|
|Return #||SUM (Returns)||The number of returns.|
|Return %||Returns ÷ Orders||The percentage of returns.|
|Revenue||Refer to "Gross Revenue."||Refer to "Gross Revenue."|
|Revenue (Salvaged)||Sum (Revenue from Orders Saved through Salvage)||Total revenue from orders saved through salvage.|
|Salvaged Discount||Sum (Revenue Lost from Discount on saved salvage)||Total revenue lost from the discounts given on saved salvage orders.|
|Starting Unique Customers||Sum (Starting Unique Customers)||Starting Unique Customers, is the number of distinct customers at the beginning of the month. Analytics identifies a distinct, unique customer by their email address.|
|Straight Sale||Sum (||Orders that are not on subscription.|
|Successful Charges||SUM (Successful Charges)||The successful processing of a customer for the price asked for goods or services.|
|System Expenses||Sum (System Expense)||Expenses associated with all systems used to manage the online business. This includes the expense for Lime Light, hosting, and any other technology-related expense that needs to be accounted for in the P&L. Note: To modify this data element, refer to the Overview of Expenses page.|
|Total Expenses||Sum (Expenses)||The sum of all expenses. To add/modify expenses, refer to the Overview of Expenses page.|
|Total Forecast||n/a||The total forecasted revenue for the subscriptions.|
Data presented based on "Transaction Date" will organize the data by the date that transaction was performed without any association to any other component of that transaction. As an example, Transaction Date will not associate the relationship between a Re-bill transaction, or a Recurring transaction and the Initial transaction (Cycle 0) that initiated the order. Reporting using Transaction Date simply performs calculations on all transactions within the designated date range.
Also see Acquisition Date.
|Transactions||Sum (Transactions)||The total number of transactions.|
|Unique Customers||Sum (Unique Customers)||The total number of unique new customers. Lime Light identifies unique customers through email address.|
|Void||n/a||A void is an order that gets canceled before the order is processed. There is a 24-hour window to void an order. After 24 hours, the LimeLight platform does not allow voids. At that point, the order would need to be refunded. For this reason, voids are included in the Refund counts.|
You may find the following Help Center articles relevant to Analytics helpful.
- Analytics Overview
- Glossary of Terms
- How to use Filters
- Analytics Vs. Reports - Data Calculation Methodology